Wage & Hour Law FAQs
Knowledgeable attorneys fight to see you paid
You work hard and you deserve to be fairly compensated. Unfortunately, even though the Fair Labor Standards Act has been law for more than 75 years, employers still find ways to shortchange their employees. At DeLong, Caldwell, Bridgers, Fitzpatrick, & Benjamin, LLC, we believe in fair treatment for workers. We fight for justice, taking wage and hour cases to trial when necessary. If you suspect that your employer is treating you unfairly, read these frequently asked questions.
- What businesses in Georgia must comply with wage and hour laws under the Fair Labor Standards Act?
- What is the minimum wage in Georgia?
- Is there mandatory overtime in Georgia?
- How does Georgia employment law cover meals and breaks?
- How do leave laws affect Georgia workers?
If you still have doubts, take advantage of our free consultations.
Contact our Atlanta employment lawyers for wage and hour representation
If your employer has violated your wage and hour rights, attorneys at DeLong, Caldwell, Bridgers, Fitzpatrick, & Benjamin, LLC are ready to help. Our employment lawyers take decisive steps to help ensure that you are fairly compensated. To schedule a free consultation, call our Atlanta office at 470-443-0524 or contact us online.
The Fair Labor Standards Act covers the following types of enterprises:
- A company that engages in interstate commerce and does at least $500,000 in business per year
- A hospital
- A school
- A public agency
Businesses covered by the FLSA must pay workers time and a half for overtime and grant other benefits.
Employers that are subject to the Federal Labor Standards Act must pay employees the federal minimum wage, $7.25 per hour. Employers that are not covered by FLSA may pay employees the state minimum wage, $5.15. Tipped employees in Georgia are not covered under the state’s minimum wage law.
As with the minimum wage, overtime depends on whether the employer is subject to FLSA. Georgia has no overtime law to protect workers when FLSA does not apply.
Georgia law does not require employers to offer meal breaks or rest breaks. However, if you get a short rest break, from five to 15 or 20 minutes, you are entitled to be paid for that time. If you take lunch but have to perform light duties during that time, you are also entitled to be paid.
If you are an eligible employee of a covered company, you are entitled to take unpaid leave under certain circumstances without jeopardizing your job security. The law allows 12 workweeks of leave in a 12 month period for events, such as the birth of a child, care of a newborn, adoption of a child; care for a spouse, child or parent with a serious health condition; your own serious health condition; or an exigency arising from a family member’s active military duty. Military care leave can last as long as 26 workweeks in a 12 month period.